top of page


Updated: Mar 11, 2022

This series is based on the masterpiece by Ingmar Bergman. I have been obsessed with the film since I first saw it. I wanted to give a tribute through my photo series.

य एनं वेत्ति हन्तारं यश्चैनं मन्यते हतम्।

उभौ तौ न विजानीतो नायं हन्ति न हन्यते॥ .


He who thinks that the soul kills, and he who thinks of it as killed, are both ignorant.

The soul kills not, nor is it killed.

न जायते म्रियते वा कदाचिन्

नायं भूत्वा भविता वा न भूयः।

अजो नित्यः शाश्वतोऽयं पुराणो

न हन्यते हन्यमाने शरीरे॥

The soul is never born, it never dies having come into being once,

it never ceases to be.

Unborn, eternal, abiding, and primeval,

it is not slain when the body is slain.

वासांसि जीर्णानि यथा विहाय

नवानि गृह्णाति नरोऽपराणि।

तथा शरीराणि विहाय जीर्णा-

न्यन्यानि संयाति नवानि देही॥

As a man casts off worn-out garments and puts on others that are new,

so does the soul cast off its worn-out bodies and enter into others that are new.

जातस्य हि ध्रुवो मृत्युर्ध्रुवं जन्म मृतस्य च।

तस्मादपरिहार्येऽर्थे न त्वं शोचितुमर्हसि॥

Death is certain for the born, and re-birth is certain for the dead;

therefore you should not feel grief for what is inevitable.

कर्मजं बुद्धियुक्ता हि फलं त्यक्त्वा मनीषिणः।

जन्मबन्धविनिर्मुक्ताः पदं गच्छन्त्यनामयम्॥ 

The wise, possessed of knowledge, having abandoned the fruits of their actions,

and being freed from the fetters of birth, go to the place which is beyond all evil.

This series is inspired by the masterpiece of a film: The Seventh Seal

नैनं छिन्दन्ति शस्त्राणि नैनं दहति पावकः।

न चैनं क्लेदयन्त्यापो न शोषयति मारुतः॥

Weapons do not cleave the soul, fire does not burn it,

waters do not wet it,

and the wind does not dry it.


50 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All



bottom of page